Me Before You – A Book Review

Hey y’all!

If anyone was to ask me what my favorite book was, they’d probably assume its one of the Harry Potter books but they’d be wrong. The book that’s my absolute favorite is Me Before You by JoJo Moyes. This is hands down my favorite book. I first of this actually when I saw the preview come out for the movie. I thought to myself I must see this movie even if I have to watch it alone! When I found out it was a book, I was hella hype to read it. I had to read it first before I watched the movie and boy did I read this book!

Synopsis

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . . Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living. A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our StarsMe Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

Review

Where do I even begin? This book was fantastic! I loved watching her love grow for Will. I loved seeing how she had initially a pretty alright outlook on life and when whatever happened to her happened (not spoiling anything here), it made her less sure of things in her life. I wish she honestly went to therapy for it because she kind of gave up and put other’s needs ahead of hers from that point on. And as for Will? First of all, in the book he was 35, older than he was in the movie adaptation (that bothered me a little). Anyway, I loved him in this version. He fell for Louisa pretty quickly and it was so easy to love him (me…I loved him).

One of my favorite moments were of course the heart to hearts. I heavily loved her talking to him about her life and what brought her joy and just him actually listening to her (like when he bought her the black and yellow stopped stockings) and when they went and got tattoos…ugh I loved them. And that trip to the island? A dream.

Even though it’s not the typical pairing, to see how the love happens organically was a joy. I think that’s what sold me on the book. How many people have we heard of with someone falling in love with a quadriplegic? The only other time from this book that I’d seen that was with Chris Norton (look him up. His story is amazing). Also, like this is the first time I read about assisted suicide (Luisa tasks herself with trying to change his mind about it) so that was interesting too.

TW (Trigger Warning): Assisted Suicide

I give this book 5/5.

What book made you fall in love?

XOXO,

LolaDasher

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: